Saturday, January 28, 2023
HomeCelebsRuturaj Gaikwad Ruled Out Of Sri Lanka T20Is, Mayank Agarwal Named As...

Ruturaj Gaikwad Ruled Out Of Sri Lanka T20Is, Mayank Agarwal Named As Replacement

Mayank Agarwal has been rafted into the Indian side as Ruturaj Gaikwad\’s replacement for the remaining two matches against Sri Lanka in Dharamsala.

Ruturaj Gaikwad has been ruled out of the ongoing T20I series against Sri Lanka due to due to an injury on his right wrist, said BCCI on Saturday. The right-handed opening batter who was not available for selection due to the same reason in the series opener in Lucknow, will head to the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bengaluru. \”He had complained of pain in his right wrist joint ahead of the first T20I in Lucknow on Thursday and was examined by the BCCI Medical Team,\” BCCI said in a release. Mayank Agarwal has been drafted in as Ruturaj\’s replacement for the remaining two matches in Dharamsala.

\”An MRI scan was later conducted followed by a specialist consultation. Ruturaj will now head to the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru for further management of his injury.

\”The All-India Senior Selection Committee has added Mayank Agarwal to India\’s squad for the remaining two T20Is. Mayank has joined the team in Dharamsala,\” the release further added.

Ruturaj\’s international career is yet to take flight. The right-hander has been pegged back by injuries and health related issues, which has kept him away from getting regular opportunities. Despite being in stellar form in the IPL and domestic white-ball competitions, the Maharashtra batter has played only three T20Is for India with modest returns.

India, on the other hand, will look to seal the series with a win against Sri Lanka in the second T20I in Dharamsala on Saturday. The Rohit Sharma-led side had beaten the visitors comfortably by 62 runs in the series opener.

India\’s T20 squad for 2nd and 3rd T20Is:Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Jasprit Bumrah (vice-captain), Avesh Khan, Mayank Agarwal


Most Popular

Recent Comments