Saturday, April 1, 2023
HomeCRICKETIndia vs New Zealand, 1st T20I Predicted XI: Shubman Gill to open...

India vs New Zealand, 1st T20I Predicted XI: Shubman Gill to open ahead of Prithvi Shaw in Ranchi

IND vs NZ, 1st T20I: India are likely to overlook Prithvi Shaw in the series opener against New Zealand in Ranchi on Friday as Hardik Pandya confirmed that Shubman Gill will open the innings for the hosts.

In Short

  • India and New Zealand will play three T20Is
  • Hardik confirmed that Shubman Gill will open
  • The 1st T20I will begin at 7:30 pm IST on Friday

PosterGuy: India will take on New Zealand in the first T20I of the three-match series, with Hardik Pandya continuing to lead the side in the shortest format. The teams will clash on Friday (January 27) in Ranchi.

Pandya-led India are coming on the back of a T20I series win over Sri Lanka 2-1 earlier this month. Ahead of the T20I series opener against New Zealand, Pandya confirmed that Shubman Gill, who has been consistently performing in the 50-over format, will open the innings for the hosts and as such Prithvi Shaw will have to wait for his opportunity.

India are likely to retain its winning combination from their previous T20I series, with Gill to open the innings with wicketkeeper-batter Ishan Kishan. At No.3, in the absence of Virat Kohli, Rahul Tripathi is expected to bat followed by power-hitters Suryakumar Yadav and Hardik Pandya.

Deepak Hooda could be seen pairing with Washington Sundar in the lower-order as all-rounder Axar Patel made himself unavailable for the series due to personal reasons. In the bowling department, the trio of Shivam Mavi, Umran Malik and Arshdeep Singh are the expected pacers, while the management would need to choose between Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal.

On the other hand, New Zealand will be led by Mitchell Santner in the absence of regular captain Kane Williamson, who did not travel to India. Finn Allen and Devon Conway will continue to open the innings for BlackCaps, followed by Mark Chapman. The middle-order fort will be held by Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell and Michael Bracewell.

Stand-in skipper Santner is expected to be joined by leg-spinner Ish Sodhi on the Ranchi pitch. Blair Tickner, Ben Lister and Lockie Ferguson would complete the bowling attack.

Predicted XIs:

India: Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan (wk), Rahul Tripathi, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya (c), Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Shivam Mavi, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh, Kuldeep Yadav/Yuzvendra Chahal

New Zealand: Finn Allen, Devon Conway (wk), Mark Chapman, Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner (c), Blair Tickner, Ish Sodhi, Ben Lister, Lockie Ferguson.

Click Here for home page of PosterGuy for latest update

Discoering Brands:


Most Popular

Recent Comments