6 Batsmen To Score Century In ODI World Cup Final

6 Batsmen To Score Century In ODI World Cup Final

The final of the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 is scheduled to take place at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Sunday (November 19), in which hosts India will face five-time champions Australia. More than one lakh fans are expected to watch the match live at the world’s largest cricket stadium, and over a billion fans around the globe will watch it live on TV and OTT platforms. In the summit clash, the Rohit Sharma-led side will aim to end the decade-long quest for an ICC title by getting the better of Pat Cummins’ Australia.

India has won all 10 matches played in the ODI World Cup 2023, and the Men in Blue would like to make it 11 wins on Sunday. But it won’t be an easy task because the Aussies are also in good form and are coming into the final on the back of securing eight wins in a row.

In the ongoing edition, as many as four Indian batters—Rohit Sharma (1), Virat Kohli (3), Shreyas Iyer (2), and KL Rahul (1)—and four Australian batters—David Warner (2), Mitchell Marsh (2), Glenn Maxwell (2), and Travis Head (1)—have scored a total of seven centuries each. They will be eager to come up with another big show in the final to seal the deal for their respective teams.

Ahead of the final match between India and Australia in Ahmedabad, here’s a look at six batters who have managed to score a century in the final of ODI World Cups so far:

Clive Lloyd (West Indies, 1975): The final of the inaugural edition of the ODI World Cup was played between the West Indies and Australia at the Lord’s on June 21, 1975, and in that game, West Indies skipper Clive Lloyd scored 102 runs from 85 balls to help his side post 291 runs on the board for the loss of eight wickets, which in the end proved to be enough for the Men in Maroon to seal the deal and become world champions.

Also Read:  ICC Announces Match Officials For Semifinals: Richard Illingworth, Rod Tucker To Officiate IND vs NZ Knockout Match

Viv Richards (West Indies, 1979): Legendary West Indies batter Viv Richards scored 138 runs from 157 balls in the final of the 1979 World Cup, which was played at the Lord’s on June 23. Thanks to Viv’s knock, the West Indies beat England by 92 runs and became champions for the second time in a row.

Aravinda de Silva (Sri Lanka, 1996): Aravinda de Silva remained unbeaten on 107 runs from 124 balls in the final of the 1996 World Cup, which was played between Sri Lanka and Australia in Lahore on March 17. Apart from his century, De Silva picked up three wickets for 42 runs in nine overs and completed two catches.

Ricky Ponting (Australia, 2003): Australian skipper Ricky Ponting remained not out on 140 runs from 121 balls in the final of the 2003 ODI World Cup, which was played between India and Australia at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg on March 23, 2003.

Adam Gilchrist (Australia, 2007): Australian wicketkeeper-batter Adam Gilchrist scored 149 runs from 104 balls against the West Indies in the final of the 2007 ODI World Cup played against Sri Lanka in Barbados on April 28.

Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka, 2011): Former Sri Lankan skipper Mahela Jayawardene scored 103 runs from 88 balls in the final of the 2011 ODI World Cup against India at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on April 2. But his knock went in vain as India managed to chase down the target of 275 runs in 48.2 overs for the loss of four wickets.

Also Read:  IND Vs AUS, ODI World Cup 2023 Final: Closing Ceremony Details

Similar Posts