Monday, June 5, 2023
HomeCRICKETIndia vs Sri Lanka: Shikhar Dhawan dropped from ODI squad in run-up...

India vs Sri Lanka: Shikhar Dhawan dropped from ODI squad in run-up to World Cup 2023

India vs Sri Lanka: India have decided to snub Shikhar Dhawan from the ODI squad. Dhawan, one of the best modern-day ODI players for India might have played his last for the Indian team.

In Short

  • Shikhar Dhawan has not done well off late with the India ODI side
  • Dhawan did not have a successful outing in the recent Bangladesh series
  • Dhawan, once India’s go to man in ICC tournaments might have played his last for the national side

India opener Shikhar Dhawan was not named in India’s first ODI series of 2023. Dhawan, once India’s go-to man in the ODI format of the game was dropped from the side that was announced by the Chetan Sharma-led selection committee. Dhawan recently played in the Bangladesh ODI series and did not perform well in India’s 2-1 loss to the Tigers. This was India’s only 2nd ODI series loss in the neighbouring country, after Dhoni’s team lost back in 2015.

The selection committee made radical changes to the side, dropping Rishabh Pant and Dhawan. The committee also made Hardik Pandya the vice captain of the side, despite the presence of KL Rahul, which could mean a clear shift in stats quo.

Earlier, former India selector Saba Karim had said that if India needed to move ahead with their ODI squad, they would need to drop Dhawan from the side, and after Ishan Kishan scored a double century in Bangladesh, that might have been the final nail in the coffin for the left-handed batter.

Captain for several ODI series in the absence of senior players, Dhawan currently has 6793 runs from 167 matches in the ODI format at an average of 44.11. He has scored 17 centuries and 39 half centuries till date. Famous for being a clutch player in the ICC tournaments, Dhawan is one of the most prolific openers for India in an ODI World Cup and has scored 537 runs from 10 matches.

India ODI squad for Sri Lanka series

Rohit Sharma (C), Hardik Pandya (VC), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh


Also Read: India vs Sri Lanka: Rohit Sharma returns to lead India in ODI series, Rishabh Pant rested


Most Popular

Recent Comments