Today In 2008, RR Became The 1st-Ever IPL Champions After Winning A Thriller vs CSK

June 1, 2008. RR was taking on CSK in the 1st ever IPL final. The winner would go on to win the first-ever title and have the tag of inaugural champions.

In the end, it was RR who stood tall to become the first-ever champions of the tournament that had taken cricket by storm. But it was not an easy win by any stretch of the imagination.

Led by the legend Shane Warne himself, RR surpassed all expectations to make it to the final. CSK under MS Dhoni were in superb form and pretty much expected to play the final, so it was not a surprise they were there.

The batters did their job and contributions from Parthiv Patel, Suresh Raina and Dhoni himself took CSK to an impressive 163/5. 

During RR’s run-chase, it was Yusuf Pathan who led the way with a quickfire fifty. But CSK did chip away at the wickets and removed 7 RR batters.

It came down to the final ball with Sohail Tanvir on strike and Warne at the other end. The win came off the last delivery and RR won by 3 wickets. It was heartbreak for CSK who narrowly missed out on becoming the 1st IPL champions. 

Warne had the distinction of being the 1st skipper to lift the IPL trophy. Dhoni narrowly missed out.

Dhoni would become the 1st Indian skipper to win the IPL when CSK won in 2010. 2009 was won by DC under Adam Gilchrist.

RR have not won again and the closest they came to doing so was when they made it to the 2022 final. CSK won again in 2011, 2018, 2021 and 2023. They were the first to win consecutive titles and currently jointly hold the record for most titles with MI.

Also Read:  "So What, If...": Mohammed Shami Comes To Virat Kohli's Defence

But that day belonged to RR and one cannot take away their distinction of being the 1st IPL winners. Fifteen years on, that game is still fresh in the memory of IPL fans.

Click Here for home page of PosterGuy for latest update.

Similar Posts